Problem with new DEV English string

Problem with new DEV English string

by German Valero -
Number of replies: 4
Picture of Language pack maintainers

I think I found a problem for non-English Moodle sites in soon-to-be released 3.0 DEV branch.

The string borderstyles_default | atto_table contains "solid,​dashed,​dotted"

BUT these three words are not independently available in AMOS, so I think that these three choices that the user must (choose from, and) type are hard-wired and, therefore, should not be translated by AMOS (dirty quick fix, hostile for languages different to English), or the developers should define these three words individually, make them available to AMOS, and change the code used to recognize the user input, so that the user could type whichever style he/she chooses in whichever language he/she uses. Or maybe an unrecognized input (in a translated language) should produce a "choose from these three choices only (in English)..."

But I am not a programmer and I have not been able to try this in a local server yet.

But we are already in 3.0 Q.A. phase, and I would really like if a knowledgeable person could check into it and propose a fix (if merited).

This might be a minor issue, but the coming 3.0 branch looks like the best Moodle branch ever smile

In reply to German Valero

Re: Problem with new DEV English string

by German Valero -

When using the DEV 3.0 branch Moodle 3.0beta (Build: 20151023), if you go to

The choices shown are all English words, even if you have a 100% translated language pack (es_mx), and are not available for translation in AMOS (they are hard-wired) :

none, hidden,dotted,dashed,solid,double,groove,ridge,inset,outset

Is this worth adding an issue to the tracker?

It affects all non-English Moodle users sad

by David Mudrák -